Annex 3: PECC Member Committees

PECC Member Committees:

Australian Pacific Economic Cooperation Committee (AUSPECC)

Member since: June 1982

Chair:

Vice-Chair:

Prof. Christopher Findlay

Professor, Asia Pacific School of Economics

and Management

Australian National University

Secretariat:

Mr Jim Short

AUSPECC Executive Director

Brunei Darussalam National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (BDCPEC)

Member since: November 1986

Chair:

Pehin Lim Jock Seng

2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs

Secretariat:

Mr Husaini Alauddin

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Canadian National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (CANCPEC)

Member since: May 1991

Chair:

Mr Yuen Pau Woo

Vice President Research and Chief Economist

Secretariat:

Mr Paul Irwin

Executive Director, CANCPEC

Chilean National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (CHILPEC)

Member since: May 1991

Chair:

Dr Manfred Wilhelmy

Executive Director, Chile Pacific Foundation

Secretariat:

Chile Pacific Foundation

China National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (CNCPEC)

Member since: November 1986

Chair:

Amb. Yang Chengxu

Vice President

China Foundation for International Studies and

Academic Exchanges

Executive Vice Chair:

Amb. Guo Jiading

Secretariat:

Amb. Jiang Chengzong

Secretary General, CNCPEC

Colombia National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (COLPECC)

Member since: March 1994

Chair:

Mrs Carolina Barco

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Secretariat:

Dr Fidel Duque

Director General, COLPECC

Ecuadorian Committee for the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (ECPECC)

Member since: October 1999

Chair:

Mr Mauricio Davalos-Guevara Executive President of Agroflora

Secretariat:

Amb. Antonio Rodas

Executive Director, ECPECC

Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (HKCPEC)

Member since: May 1991

Chair:

Prof. Edward Chen

President, Lingnan University

Secretariat: Ms Jenny Yip

Secretary General, HKCPEC Secretariat

Trade and industry Department

Indonesian National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (INCPEC)

Member since: June 1982

Chair:

Mr Jusuf Wanandi

Member, Board of Trustees, Centre for Strategic

and International Studies (CSIS)

Secretariat:

Dr Hadi Soesastro Executive Director

Ms Tevy Poluan-Masengi Executive Officer, INCPEC Japan National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (JANCPEC)

Member since: June 1982

Chair:

Amb. Yoshihisa Ara

Professor, Saitama Institute of Technology

Secretariat:

Dr Makio Miyagawa

Executive Director, JANCPEC

The Japan Institute of International Affairs (JIIA)

Korea National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (KOPEC)

Member since: June 1982

Chair:

Dr Kihwan Kim

International Advisor at Goldman Sachs Chairman, Seoul Financial Forum

Vice Chair:

Dr Soogil Young

Chairman, Korea National Strategy Forum,

National Strategy Institute (NSI)

Secretariat:

Dr Jaebong Ro

Executive Director, KOPEC

Malaysia National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (MANCPEC)

Member since: December 1984

Chair:

Tan Sri Dr Noordin Sopiee

Chairman and CEO, Institute of Strategic &

International Studies (ISIS)

Secretariat:

Dr Stephen Leong

Director-General, MANCPEC; Assistant Director-

General, ISIS, Malaysia

Institute of Strategic and International Studies

(ISIS)

Mexico National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (MXCPEC)

Member since: May 1991

Chair:

Dr Luis Ernesto Derbez Minister of Foreign Affairs

Secretariat:

Mr Salvador De Lara

General Coordinator, MXCPEC

New Zealand Committee of the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (NZPECC)

November 1983

Chair:

Prof. Gary Hawke

Professor of Economic History, Victoria

University of Wellington

Secretariat:

Ms Elizabeth Jones

Executive Director, NZPECC

Peruvian National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (PERUPEC)

Member since: May 1991

Chair:

Minister Susana Corbacho Carillo

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Secretariat:

Mr Renato Reyes, First Secretary

Mr Luis Romero, Third Secretary

PERUPEC Secretariat

Philippine Pacific Economic Cooperation Committee (PPECC)

Member since: June 1982

Chair:

Secretariat:

Amb. Antonio I. Basilio

Executive Director, PPECC

Philippine Foundation For Global Concerns

Russian National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (RNCPEC)

Member since: September 1991

Chair:

Mr Victor I. Ishaev

Governor of Khabarovsk Region

Secretariat:

Mr Evgeny N. Makarov

Executive Secretary, RNCPEC

Bureau of Asia-Pacific Issues, APEC Division

Ministry for Foreign Affairs of the Russian

Federation

Singapore National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (SINCPEC)

Member since: April 1984

Chair:

Prof. Tan Teck Meng

Professor of Accounting, Singapore

Management University

The Evolution of PECC: THE FIRST 25 YEARS

Secretariat:

Prof. Tan Wee Liang Coordinator, SINCPEC

Singapore Management University School of

Accountancy

PACIFIC ISLANDS FORUM (PIF)

Chair:

Mr Greg Urwin Secretary General

Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat

Chinese Taipei Pacific Economic Cooperation Committee (CTPECC)

Member since: November 1986

Chair:

Dr Jeffrey L S Koo

Chairman and CEO, Chinatrust Commercial

Bank

Secretariat:

Dr David Hong

Director General, CTPECC

Taiwan Institute of Economic Research (TIER)

Thailand National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (TNCPEC)

Member since: June 1982

Chair:

Tun Dr Thanat Khoman

President, International Law Association of

Thailand

Secretariat:

Mr Pisan Manawapat Executive Director

c/o Department of Economic Affairs

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

United States National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (USNCPEC)

Member since: June 1982

Chair:

Senator Bennett Johnston

President, Johnston and Associates, LLC

Secretariat:

Dr Mark Borthwick

Executive Director, USNCPEC

Viet Nam National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (VNCPEC)

Member since: June 1994

Chair:

Mr Vu Tien Loc

Chairman, Viet Nam Chamber of Commerce

and Industry (VCCI)

Vice Chair:

Mr Cao Tran Quoc Hai

Deputy Director General, Department of

Multilateral Economic Cooperation

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Secretariat:

Mr Cao Tran Quoc Hai

Deputy Director General, Department of

Multilateral Economic Cooperation

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

France Pacific Territories National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (FPTPEC)

Associate member since: April 1997

Chair:

Hon. Michel Rocard

Former Prime Minister, France

Asia-Pacific Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Secretariat:

H.E. Jacques Le Blanc Secretary General, FPTPEC Secrétariat du comité France (Territories du Pacifique) pour le P.E.C.C c/o Secrétariat Permanent pour le Pacifique, Bureau

H.E. Bruno Gain
Permanent Secretary for Pacific Affairs
Deputy Secretary General, FPTPEC
Secrétariat Permanent pour le Pacifique, Bureau

Mongolian National Committee on Pacific Economic Cooperation (MONCPEC)

Associate member since April 2000

Chair:

Mr T. Ochirkhuu Chairman of the Standing Committee on Economic Policy, Parliament of Mongolia

Vice-Chair: Mr S. Batbold

Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs of Mongolia

Secretariat:

Mr D. Tsogtbaatar Executive Director, MONCPEC c/o Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Pacific Trade and Development Conference (PAFTAD)

Institutional member since: September 1987

Chairman

Dr Hadi Soesastro
Executive Director

Centre for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS), Jakarta

Secretariat:

Adrian Rollins

PAFTAD Secretariat

Australia-Japan Research Centre, Asia Pacific School of Economics & Management (APSEM) Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

Pacific Basin Economic Council (PBEC)

Institutional member since: August 1985

Chairman

Mr David Eldon

Chairman, Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd

Secretariat:

Mr Stephen Olson

President, PBEC International Secretariat